Double Standard Officiating Usually Doesn’t Occur in the NHL

Remember the Wild game when Calgary had two goals disallowed in 36 seconds? You know the one, where Glencross was the culprit twice? The league had this to say about Glencross standing just OUTSIDE of the crease.

“Even though at the time of the goal he’s not bumping him, if the goalie can’t do his job, it’s no goal. There was incidental contact and the goalie was distracted and unable to get set for the shot. You can’t visually interfere while the goalie is doing his job in the blue paint.”

Fast forward to the overtime tilt in Game 1 between Calgary and Chicago. Andrew ladd comes barreling down, gets touched by Leopold, and winds up in Kiprusoff’s lap. Result? Goal. Not even an explanation was given for the blown call.

The fact the league came out and said something against re: the Minnesota game, and said nothing after the Calgary game, leaves one shaking their head. Do the rules really change in the playoffs?

How can new fans comprehend rules and regulations when there is a clear double standard going on?

NHL rule 69.3 states: “If an attacking player establishes a significant position within the goal crease, so as to obstruct the goalkeeper’s vision and impair his ability to defend his goal, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.”

Yet another reason why the officials crapped their pants in Game 1. Do’nt even get me started with Byfuligen’s intentional slew foot on Kiprusoff….

Currently Keenan is doing a good job leveraging this press and deflecting attention away from the team. One can only hope Calgary gets so pissed of that they steal Game 2 in a big way.